Norskedalen Heritage Site
The Norskedalen Heritage Site is a 43 acre property just west of Coon Valley that was given to Norskedalen by Lloyd Thrune and his sister Ruth Thrune, in 1983. It was their wish to see the log house, built by their grandfather Nels Skumsrud in 1853, considered to be the oldest surviving house in the area, preserved for the future. They further wished that the property would be used to perpetuate the Norwegian heritage of the area.
The property is a historic open-air museum owned and operated by Norskedalen as a museum and cultural center for classes and events. It has thirteen restored pioneer log buildings nestled in a picturesque valley with a creek and croplands surrounded by forested hills.
A Gift Shop is located in one of the restored log buildings. Heritage Classes in a wide variety of arts and crafts are held in the Lloyd Thrune classroom building. The Museum displays the many artistic talents of both Lloyd and Ruth Thrune including wood carving and painting.The farm's unique setting complements the educational experience.
The Norskedalen Heritage Site (formerly Skumsrud Heritage Farm) is CLOSED for the 2013 season due to project preparation. Open by appointment, special tour dates to be determined, and the July 7th Art Fair and Chocolate Soiree. The main site at Norskedalen, off county road PI, is fully open and welcomes you !