Norskedalen’s Thrunegaarden (formerly known as Skumsrud-Thrune Farm) is a 43-acre property just west of Coon Valley that was gifted to Norskedalen in 1983 by Lloyd and Agnes Thrune and Lloyd’s sister, Ruth Thrune. On this property is a log house built in 1853 by Nels Skumsrud, Lloyd and Ruth’s grandfather. It is considered to be the oldest surviving house in the area. It was the Thrunes’ wish that it be preserved for the future.
Thrunegaarden, Norwegian for Thrune Farm, is an open-air museum that features a number of restored log buildings once used by Norwegian immigrants, nestled in a picturesque valley with a creek surrounded by croplands and forested hills. Also on the property is a museum dedicated to folk arts and classes.
Norskedalen’s Thrunegaarden is only open by appointment. Please contact us for details.
Thrunegaarden can be found at the following address:
E4465 Hwy 14/61, Coon Valley, WI 54623